Loki and Change

Yeah, I’m still on this kick.  It probably won’t end any time soon.  I know a lot of people don’t like him but he’s gotten back into doing my daily practice AND talking to my other Gods.  Something I’ve been apathetic about for several years now.

So….

In doing research tonight I read a part that really resonated with my current situation:“Change causes both obstacles and opportunities but it rarely gives us exactly what we want; we have to work for that. Life isn’t supposed to be easy, a point often reflected in the Old Religion.”

Case in point… I applied for a similar position at a different company.  They called me and I have a phone interview tomorrow.  Am I doing this because I need to?  Or because I want to change something and this is the easiest thing?  I don’t know but after tonight you can damn sure bet I’ll be thinking about it.  Because I don’t really need to change my job, I’m slowly getting out of the department I’m in and I’m pretty sure I’ll persevere in the end.

Just.  There are times when I get, for lack of a better word, itchy.  I want to do something different, break out of the rut (real or perceived), shake things up.  And am I doing it because it’s necessary or because I can?  The article also said: “…and change for the sake of change is chaos.”   And part of me feels that would be right up Loki’s alley.

In my defense, I just started actually studying about him.  Before now it’s all been what little I remember from my long ago comparative literature classes as well as odds and ends I picked up as a child.

Maybe I’ll have an answer the next time I’m here.

Leave a Reply

